• French
  • English

My Account

My Basket

You are not alone – Michael Jackson

Play Video

You Are Not Alone is a song by Michael Jackson that was released on the HIStory album on June 20, 1995, then released as a single on August 15 of the same year. 

It was the first and only single to debut directly at No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100. R. 

Kelly is said to have written the song after the loss of loved ones.

Plagiarism  

On September 4, 2007, the Brussels Court of Appeal definitively ruled that this song was a plagiarism of a work written in 1993 by twin brothers Danny and Eddy van Passel entitled if we can start all over. According to this same judgment, all copyrights unduly paid to R. Kelly must be returned to the van Passels. Since this judgment (only recognized in Belgium), the song has been banned from Belgian radio and television.

Sheet music for piano solo

Digital Download.
PDF: 8 pages.
Arrangement: F . Labis.
Level: Grade 2
Price: $4.99 [€4.30]

(Official License managed by SMP Press)

Demo

Play Video

Midi File

Midi file for educational purposes, compatible with digital pianos supporting midi files and with the Synthesia game.


Separated hands

Price: 1.00£

Demo

Play Video
N.B. The midi file is in 2 voices, so it will be displayed in 2 different colours in Synthesia and not one colour per note like in this video.

Tutorial

Below you will find 2 different tutorials (Synthesia style and with sheet music) and 2 different lessons. There is a 3 part lesson which explains in detail how to play the song and another lesson in which I did a quick explanation of the method I use to play by ear.

As on the one hand I was asked if I could do a tutorial on this song and on the other hand, many people think that playing by ear is difficult, that you to be gifted, which doesn’t is not the case, I wanted to make a little live video of my procedure. I hadn’t played this song for a very long time and had completely forgotten about it. I had to find the notes of the melody and the left hand chords. So I turned on my webcam and started analyzing the song. I tried to say out loud what was going on in my head but it wasn’t obvious at all. Worse yet, I quote notes and play others. I hesitated for a long time between publishing this video or remaking another more professional. And finally I tell myself that a well-crafted video would bring nothing more, but on the other hand the Reality TV side of my first take reflects more my way of doing things and my sometimes a little confused ideas. My goal is not to give a lesson to learn to play by ear, but rather to show how I do. This is therefore the beginning of the path for those who would like to be able to play by ear but also for the more expert to give me their advice so that I can continue to progress.

Step by step complete lesson

How I play by ear

Play Video

Original Version

Another version played on my digital piano

Play Video

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

I need coffee to stay up all night creating new content

For the convenience of your visit, I have removed the advertisements. But this website takes not only a lot of time to edit but generate expenses like the hosting and  security tools.

By offering me a coffee, you will not only help me cover my costs but also encourage me to continue posting free content. .

My latest cover

Archives

Top

• Français
  • Anglais

You are not alone – Michael Jackson

Lire la vidéo

Partition pour piano

PDF: 8 pages.
Arrangement: F . Labis.
Niveau: facile
Prix: 3,49£

Fichier midi

Fichier midi à but éducatif, compatible avec les pianos numériques supportant les fichiers midis et avec l’application Synthesia
You Are Not Alone est une chanson de Michael Jackson parue sur l’album HIStory le , puis sortie en tant que single le 15 août de la même année. Ce fut le premier et l’unique single à faire sa première apparition directement au numéro 1 du Billboard Hot 100. R. Kelly aurait écrit la chanson après la perte de proches.

Plagiat

Le 4 septembre 2007, la cour d’appel de Bruxelles a définitivement statué que cette chanson était un plagiat d’une œuvre écrite en 1993 par les frères jumeaux Danny et Eddy van Passel intitulée if we can start all over. Selon ce même jugement, tous les droits d’auteur indûment versés à R. Kelly devront être restitués aux van Passel. Depuis ce jugement (uniquement reconnu en Belgique), la chanson est bannie des radios et télévision belges

Tutoriel

Ci-dessous vous trouverez 2 tutoriels différents. Il y a un tutoriel en 3 parties qui explique en détails comment jouer le morceau et un autre tutoriel dans lequel j’ai fait une explication rapide de la méthode que j’utilise pour jouer d’oreille

Comme d’une part on m’avait demandé si je pouvais faire un tuto sur ce morceau et d’autre part, beaucoup de gens pensent que jouer d’oreille c’est difficile, qu’il faut un don, ce qui n’est pas le cas, je voulais faire une petite vidéo live de ma procédure. Je n’avais plus joué ce morceau depuis très longtemps et je l’avais complètement oublié. Il fallait que je recherche les notes de la mélodie et les accords main gauche. J’ai donc allumé ma webcam et j’ai commencé à analyser le morceau. J’ai essayé de dire à voix haute ce qui se passait dans ma tête mais ce n’est pas évident du tout. Pire encore, je cite des notes et j’en joue d’autres. J’ai hésité pendant longtemps entre publier cette vidéo ou en refaire une autre plus pro. Et pour finir je me dis qu’une vidéo bien ficelée n’apporterait rien de plus, mais par contre le côté Reality TV de ma première prise reflète d’avantage ma façon de faire et mes idées parfois un peu confuses. Mon but n’étant pas de donner un cours pour apprendre à jouer d’oreille, mais plutôt de montrer comment moi je fais. Ceci est donc un début de piste pour ceux qui aimeraient pouvoir jouer d’oreille mais aussi pour que les plus experts me donnent leurs conseils afin que je puisse continuer de progresser.

Version originale

Une autre version que j'ai enregistrée sur mon piano numérique

Lire la vidéo

Tuto de type synthesia

Lire la vidéo

Tuto avec partition

Lire la vidéo

Comment je fais pour jouer d'oreille

Lire la vidéo

Leçon de piano complète

4 Comments on “You are not alone – Michael Jackson

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Le café m'aide à passer des nuits blanches pour créer de nouveaux contenus

Pour le confort de votre visite, j'ai supprimé les publicités, qui jusqu'à présent m'aidaient à couvrir les frais d'hébergement et de sécurité du site. De plus, ces pages demandent beaucoup de temps pour leur édition et surtout pour la création de leur contenu. 

En m'offrant un café, non seulement vous m'aiderez à couvrir mes frais mais aussi vous m'encouragerez à continuer de publier du contenu gratuit.

Derniers commentaires

Share
Top