• French
  • English

My Account

My Basket

Music – John Miles

Play Video

Music
Artist : John Miles
Album : Rebel
Released : 1976
Genre : Pop

Collaboration work with the participation of Elie Drai’s students  in thanks for all that he has brought to us.

Production: Françoise (me)
Pianists: Elie Drai’s piano students
Arrangement: Françoise (me)

I’ve got video chat lessons with Elie Drai during more than a year and I was in contact with his other students either via my YouTube channel or via Facebook. I’ve made some friendships with 2 or 3 of them, and one day we wanted to make a surprise to Elie by producing a piece together, so a piece with 3 pianos. Other students wanted to participate in the project and we ended up with 22 participating students.

I proposed this title “Music” because, after all, it was the music that brought us together. It was therefore necessary to write an arrangement for 22 musicians who had very different skills levels, pianos with different sonorities and not all of them had enough to make a quality audio and video recording. So I created the arrangement, wrote the scores for each of the 22 students and made tutorials for the most beginners. It took months of work and a lot of sleepless nights. Not to mention the heavy secret to wear, even too heavy for some and Elie felt that something was happening between his students without his knowledge.

I had to do the editing in less than 24 hours because Elie worried more and more and he began to warn me then reproach. To ask him not to worry and to wait a few more days made him panic and he banished me from his forum, his Facebook page, his classes, and all other means of contact. I was completely devastated for long weeks. So I closed the editing ASAP and published the video that others were responsible for transmitting. As a thank you or congratulations, I was entitled to “Thank you, it’s funny but blah blah blah”, the blablas were still reproaches.

In short, it was a great exciting adventure but also a good life lesson. I regret nothing.

On YouTube, the sound was cut for copyright reasons, so here is an internal link.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

I need coffee to stay up all night creating new content

For the convenience of your visit, I have removed the advertisements. But this website takes not only a lot of time to edit but generate expenses like the hosting and  security tools.

By offering me a coffee, you will not only help me cover my costs but also encourage me to continue posting free content. .

My latest cover

Archives

Top

Piano covers, tutos, partitions, midis, outils et conseils utiles

Music – John Miles

This page is available in : Anglais

Music
Artiste : John Miles
Album : Rebel
Date de sortie : 1976
Genre : Pop

Travail commun avec la participation des élèves d’Elie Drai en remerciement pour tout ce qu’il nous a apporté et nous apporte encore.

Production et réalisation: Françoise (moi)
Pianistes: les élèves d’Elie Drai
Arrangements: Françoise (moi)

J’avais suivi un peu plus d’un an de cours en video-conférence avec Elie Drai et j’étais en contact avec d’autres élèves d’Elie soit via ma chaine YouTube, soit via Facebook. J’avais créé quelques liens d’amitié avec 2 ou 3 d’entre-eux, et un jour on a eu envie de faire une surprise à Elie en produisant un morceau ensemble, donc un morceau à 3 pianos. D’autres élèves ont eu envie de participer au projet et du coup on s’est retrouvé avec 22 élèves participants.

J’ai proposé ce titre parce qu’après tout c’était la musique qui nous réunissait. Il a fallu donc écrire un arrangement pour 22 musiciens qui avaient des niveaux très différents, des pianos aux sonorités différentes et pas tous n’avaient de quoi faire un enregistrement audio et video de qualité. J’ai donc créé l’arrangement, écrit les partitions pour chacun des 22 élèves et fait des tutos pour les plus débutants. Cela a pris des mois de travail et beaucoup de nuits blanches. Sans compter le lourd secret à porter, meme trop lourd pour certains et Elie a senti que quelque chose se passait entre ses élèves à son insu.

J’ai du faire le montage en moins de 24h car Elie s’inquiétait de plus en plus et il commençait à me faire des mises en garde puis des reproches. Lui demander de ne pas s’inquiéter et de patienter encore quelques jours l’a fait paniquer et il m’a bannie de son forum, sa page Facebook, ses cours, et tout autre moyen de contact. J’en ai été complètement dévastée pour de longues semaines. J’ai donc clôturé le montage en 4e vitesse et publié la video que d’autres se sont chargés de lui transmettre. En guise de remerciement ou de felicitations, j’ai eu droit à « Merci, c’est marrant mais bla bla bla », les blablas étant encore des reproches.

Bref, ce fut une grande aventure passionnante mais aussi une bonne leçon de vie. Je ne regrette rien.

Sur YouTube, le son a été coupé pour des raisons de droits d’auteurs, donc voici un lien interne, mais le chargement est beaucoup plus lent, il faut patienter un peu, le temps du téléchargement complet de la video.

Share